46 articles, 84 authors, 262 pages
Winter 2008     ISSN 1096-1453     Volume 12, Issue 4

delivery time
Table of Contents
Editorial:
	Online Learning   /  5
	Languages, Cultural Contact and the Role of Education  /  6

Youth culture, the mass media, and democracy  /  7
	Bradley J Porfilio, Saint Louis University
	Paul Carr, Youngstown State University
	E-mail:  porfilio16@aol.com
Acculturation Strategies: Avenues for All?   /  15
	Victoria A. Malko, California State University, Fresno
	E-mail:  vmalko@csufresno.edu
A Conceptual Model of Self-Regulation Online  /  21
	Anthony R. Artino, Uniformed Services 
		University of the Health Sciences, Bethesda, MD
	E-mail:  anthony.artino@usuhs.mil
A Learner-Centered Online Course Design  /  28
	Karen Hornsby, North Carolina A&T State University
	E-mail:  klhornsb@ncat.edu
The Benefits and Uses of Online Discussion Forums  /  33
	Lorraine D. Jackson,  California Polytechnic State University
	E-mail:  ljackson@calpoly.edu
Voicing Identity in Chicano English  /  38
	Michael Pasquale, Cornerstone University, MI
	Gillian Ferwerda, Cornerstone University, MI
	Amber Pearson, Cornerstone University, MI
	E-mail:  michael.pasquale@cornerstone.edu
Student Use and Evaluation of an Eduphlog   /  43
	Jan Ray, West Texas A&M University, TX
	Harold Lenfestey, West Texas A&M University, TX
	E-mail:  jray@mail.wtamu.edu 
Critical Issues of Pop Culture and Young Children  /  49
	Lena Lee, Ohio University, Athens, OH
	E-mail:  leer2@ohio.edu	
Second Language Learning and Social Context    /  54
 	Kirsten M. Hummel, Laval University, Canada
	E-mail:  Kirsten.Hummel@lli.ulaval.ca 
Innovations and Strategies for Teaching Online  /  60
	Heather Wyatt-Nichol, University of Baltimore
	Pamela T. Dunning, Troy University
	E-mail:  hwyatt-nichol@ubalt.edu
A Web Enhanced Course with Attendance Options  /  65
	Nancy Miller, Metropolitan State University, MN
	E-mail:   nancy.miller@metrostate.edu
Short Duration Political Science Simulations   /  70
	Dan Wakelee, California State University Channel Islands, CA
	E-mail:  dan.wakelee@csuci.edu
Self-Criticism, Goals, and Self-Assessment  /  76
	Loranel M. Graham, Our Lady of the Lake University
	E-mail:  grahl@lake.ollusa.edu
Intercultural Communication in College Classroom  /  81
	Marina Gorlach, Metropolitan State College of Denver
	E-mail:  gorlach@mscd.edu
Teaching Spanish with a Bidialectal Approach  /  87
	Jorge E. Porras, Sonoma State University, Rohnert Park, CA
	E-mail:  Jorge.porras@sonoma.edu 
Mathematics Anxiety in Preservice Teachers  /  93
	Jean Mistele, Radford University
	Laura Jacobsen Spielman, Radford University
	E-mail:  lspielman@radford.edu
Perception, Production and Online Writing Courses  /  98
	Randall McClure, Florida Gulf Coast University, FL
	E-mail:  randallmcclure@gmail.com
Navigating the Classroom with The Golden Compass   /  106
	Amanda O. Latz, Ball State University, IN
	John Ambrosio,   Ball State University, IN
	E-mail:  aolatz@bsu.edu
A class in research, culture and entrepreneurship   /  111
	Sara B. Marcketti, Iowa State University, IA
	Sara J. Kadolph, Iowa State University, IA 
	E-mail:  sbb@iastate.edu 
Dimensions of Collaborative Faculty Development  /  117
	Rachel G. Ragland, Lake Forest College, IL
	Dawn Abt-Perkins, Lake Forest College, IL
	Richard Pettengill, Lake Forest College, IL
	E-mail:  ragland@lakeforest.edu
Online Book Clubs as an Instructional Tool  /  122
	Tamara M. Walser, University of North Carolina Wilmington
	E-mail:  walsert@uncw.edu
Two-Year College Mathematics Teacher Reformation  /  127
	Michael A. Gallo, Florida Institute of Technology, FL
	Marsha M. Lake, Brevard Community College, FL
	Jane A. Edgar, Brevard Community College, FL
	Mark Marovich, Brevard Community College, FL
	E-mail:  gallo@fit.edu
Faculty Learning From Interdisciplinary Teamwork  /  132
	Paula Korsko, Hostos Community College, 
		City University of New York, NY
	Kate Lyons, Hostos Community College, 
		City University of New York, NY
	E-mail:  pkorsko@hostos.cuny.edu
Affordances of An Astronomy Laboratory Simulation  /  136
	Piyanan Nuankhieo, University of Missouri
	Lanika Ruzhitskaya, University of Missouri
	Joi L. Moore, University of Missouri
	Angela Speck, University of Missouri
	E-mail:  pn3kf@mizzou.edu 
Partnering with Nonprofits in Marketing Education  /  142
	Doris Shaw, Northern Kentucky University
	E-mail:  shawdor@nku.edu
The Role of English in the Lives of ELLs  /  148
	Shin-ying Huang,  National Taiwan Normal University, Taipei
	E-mail:  syh@ntnu.edu.tw
Nontraditional College Student Development   /  153
	Daniel P. Macari, Saint Cloud State University
	E-mail:  dpmacari@stcloudstate.edu
Academic Worldview Differences and Motivation  /  159
	Roberta King Mitchell, James Madison University, VA
	C. Leigh Nelson, James Madison University, VA
	E-mail:  mitcherk@jmu.edu
Collaborative Partnerships & Teacher Empowerment  /  165
	Lisa J. Vernon-Dotson, Duquesne University, Pennsylvania
	Loury O. Floyd, North Carolina Agricultural and 
		Technical State University
	E-mail:  vernonl@duq.edu 
Drowning in Information – Starved for Knowledge  /  171
	Susan F. Belgrad, Califonia State University Northridge
	E-mail:  susan.belgrad@csun.edu
Diverse Assessment Methods Score High Marks  /  176
	Anita Miller, Dominican University, Illinois
	E-mail:  amill@charter.net
Analysis of Spanish Preterite Learner Errors  /   181
	Eva Rodríguez-González, Miami University, OH
	E-mail:  gonzaler@muohio.edu
ORF Measures as Predictors of Reading Performance   /  187
	Tammy Stephens, Texas Woman’s University
	Lloyd Kinnison,  Texas Woman’s University
	E-mail:  TStephens1@twu.edu 
Using Global Simulation to Study Ethnic Conflict  /  192
	William W. Bostock, School of Government, University of Tasmania
	E-mail:  bostock@utas.edu.au
Why African Traditional Education Should Not Die  /  197
	Michael Bamidele Adeyemi, University of Botswana, Botswana
	E-mail:  adeyemim@mopipi.ub.bw
Achievement Processes in the College Classroom   /  202
	Rochelle Matthews-Somerville, Bowie State University, MD
	Thelon Byrd, Bowie State University, MD
	E-mail:  rsomerville@bowiestate.edu
Computer-Based Instruction and Cognitive Load  /  207
	Jui-Long Hung, Boise State University, ID
	Brandon Randolph-Seng,  Texas Tech University, TX
	Kittikunanant Monsicha,  Texas Tech University, TX
	Steven M. Crooks,  Texas Tech University, TX
	E-mail:  algaandy@gmail.com
Integrating Mathematics and Physical Activity  /  213
	Romanello ML, College of Mount St. Joseph, OH
	Hammergren R, St. Luke Hospital, KY
	Boesch CC, Cincinnati Public Schools, OH
	Okamoto K, Coastside Physical Therapy, CA
	McEvoy E, College of Mount St. Joseph, OH 
	Ahrens D, Mercy Hospital Clermont, OH
	Reid A, Dearborn County Hospital, IN 
	Stoneburner R, Margaret Mary Community Hospital, IN
	Holtgrefe K, College of Mount St. Joseph, OH
	E-mail:  mary_romanello@mail.msj.edu
Valuing Math Applications: The Role of Context  /  217
	Susan Staats, University of Minnesota, MN
	E-mail:  staats@umn.edu
Preparing Beginning Special Educators to Consult   /   222
	Kathleen Beaudoin, University of Washington, Tacoma
	Laura Feuerborn, University of Washington, Tacoma
	E-mail:  kathymb@u.washington.edu
Using Technology to Enhance Liberal Arts Math  /  227
	Frederick Butler, York College, PA
	Melanie Butler, Mount St. Mary’s University, MD
	E-mail:  fbutler2@gmail.com
Media Influences on Mathematics-Related Beliefs  /  232
	Shelby Morge, University of North Carolina Wilmington
	E-mail:  morges@uncw.edu
Convergence/Divergence Issues in American Dialects  /  238
	Valerie Fridland, University of Nevada, Reno
	E-mail:   Fridland@unr.edu
Investigating Perceptions of Teaching Online & F2F  /  243
	Michael Wray, Metropolitan State College of Denver, CO
	Patrick R. Lowenthal, University of Colorado Denver, CO
	Barbara Bates, Devry University, CO
	Ellen Stevens, University of Colorado Denver, CO
	E-mail:  wraym@mscd.edu
Attitudes of Teacher Candidates about Mathematics  /  249
	Linnea Weiland, William Paterson University, Wayne, NJ
	Dolores Keezer, Retired, New Jersey Department of Education
	E-mail:  weilandl@wpunj.edu
English Learning and Chinese Cultural Orientation  /  254
	Fuhui Tong, Texas A&M University, TX
	E-mail:  fuhuitong@tamu.edu

Keyword Subject Index  /  260-261
To view selected text, click on article's title.
To view selected abstract, click page number.
To view tables and charts, click word "table." Request paper copy when link is disabled.


  • Delivery time:
          -- Priority mail by February 20th
          -- Media mail by March 6th
          -- International mail: Canada and Europe by March 13th
          -- All other international mail by March 27th
    If copy was not received by aforesaid dates request journal-proof-of-shipment from
    academicexchange2@yahoo.com
  • Usually, after receiving shipment tracking number,
    you can check yourself US Postal Service delivery information.
  • Copies are sent out in the following sequence: first, annual paid subscribers, by ZIP Code;
    then, individual copy orders, by date of order.
  • Often, after all orders are fulfilled, we have some extra copies.
    Remaining copies are available on a first-come-first-serve basis
    at back issue price, $62.00 or $46.50 (after 25% discount)
  • Thank you for choosing Academic Exchange Quarterly for you professional needs.


AEQ print edition = wide global recognition
                                                                make it happen...
15 January 2009