39 articles, 93 authors, 244 pages

Spring 2009     ISSN 1096-1453     Volume 13, Issue 1

delivery time
Table of Contents
Editorial:
	Problem-Based Learning  /  4  
	Reading instruction  /  5  

Problem-Based Learning in Quantitative Classes   /  6
	Bruce K. Blaylock, Radford University, VA
	Jerry M. Kopf, Radford University, VA
	E-mail:  bblayloc@radford.edu
Problem-based Inquiry in College Chemistry Lab  /  13
	Michael A. Panichas,  Boston College, MA
	Lynne A. O'Connell,  Boston College, MA
	Lillie R. Albert, Boston College, MA
	E-mail:  panichas@bc.edu
A Student Teacher’s View: Learning and Mentoring  /  20
	Scott Robinson, UH Manoa, HI
	E-mail:  scottdr@hawaii.edu
Promoting Comprehension and Social Cognition  /  28
	Kathy. L. Church, Pepperdine University, CA
	E-mail:  Kathy.church@pepperdine.edu
A Model for Active Mentoring of Adjunct Faculty  /  35
	Teri Sosa, Saint Joseph’s University, PA
	Jeffrey B. Hecht, Northern Illinois University, IL
	Lara Luetkehans, Northern Illinois University, IL
	E-mail:  tsosa@sju.edu
Changing Perceptions of Struggling Readers  /  42
	Karen J. Kindle, University of Missouri-Kansas City
	E-mail:  kindlek@umkc.edu
Preparing Responsive Reading Teachers with Vision  /  49
	Jennifer D. Turner, University of Maryland College Park
	Rebecca Mercado, Shepherd University
	E-mail:  jdturner@umd.edu
Drawing Construction and Reading Comprehension   /  55
	Alpana Bhattacharya, Queens College, City University of New York
	E-mail:  alpana.bhattacharya@qc.cuny.edu
Student Teachers’ Early Literacy Concepts   /  60
	Angela Rutherford,  The University of Mississippi
	LeAnn Carter,  The University of Mississippi
	Lori Wolff, The University of Mississippi
	Sarah Blackwell, The University of Mississippi
	E-mail:  araines@olemiss.edu
Increasing Health Literacy Across the Curriculum  /  70
	Jenine De Marzo,   Adelphi University, NY
	E-mail:  demarzo@adelphi.edu  
A Foundations of Leadership Curriculum   /  77
	John E. Barbuto, Jr., University of Nebraska-Lincoln
	Gregory T. Gifford, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
	Penny Pennington Weeks, Oklahoma State University
	William G. Weeks, Oklahoma State University
	Christine A. Langone, University of Georgia
	Cindy Blackwell, Oklahoma State University
	E-mail:  jbarbuto@unl.edu
Academic English as a Second Language for Gaps  /  84
	Gulbahar H. Beckett, University of Cincinnati, OH
	E-mail:  gulbahar.beckett@uc.edu
Educators’ Perceptions about Brain Research  /  89
	Debby Zambo, Arizona State University
	Ron Zambo , Arizona State University
	E-mail:  Debby.Zambo@asu.edu
Score One for Health Promotes Community Service  /  95
	Sara A. Pyle, Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences, MO
	Richard Magie, Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences, MO
	Richard R. Suminski, Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences, MO
	Alan Glaros, Ph.D. Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences, MO
	Annette Campbell, Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences, MO
	Bruce Peters, Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences, MO
	Lori Boyajian-O’Neill, Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences, MO
	V. James Guillory, Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences, MO
	E-mail:  spyle@kcumb.edu 
Faculty on Integrated Project-Based Learning  /  100
	Casey Canfield, Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering, Needham, MA
	Yevgeniya V. Zastavker, Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering, Needham, MA
	E-mail:  Yevgeniya.Zastavker@olin.edu
Problem Based Learning in Turkish Medical Schools  /  107
	Berna Musal, Dokuz Eylul University School of Medicine, Turkey
	H. Cahit Taskiran,  Dokuz Eylul University School of Medicine, Turkey
	Sema Ozan,  Dokuz Eylul University School of Medicine, Turkey
	Yucel Gursel, Dokuz Eylul University School of Medicine, Turkey
	E-mail:  berna.musal@deu.edu.tr
Cultural Competency through Service Learning   /  113
	Daryl Gordon, Adelphi University, NY 
	E-mail:  dgordon@adelphi.edu
Enhancing Computer and Technical Classes with WID  /  119
	Paula San Millan Maurino, Farmingdale State College, SUNY
	E-mail:  pmaurino@verizon.net
International Twinning as an Enrichment Project   /  124
	Lynn W. Zimmerman, Purdue University Calumet, IN
	Yehuda Peled, Western Galilee Academic College, Israel
	E-mail:  zimmerma@calumet.purdue.edu
Technology and Students with Special Needs  /  129
	Glen W. Bowers, University of Houston-Clear Lake, Texas
	Randy L. Seevers, University of Houston-Clear Lake, Texas
	Robert M. Jones, University of Houston-Clear Lake, Texas
	E-mail:  seevers@uhcl.edu
Scientific Inquiry: Improved Learning   /  133
	Peggy Schimmoeller, Randolph College, Lynchburg, VA
	Peter Sheldon, Randolph College, Lynchburg, VA
	Tatiana Toteva, Randolph College, Lynchburg, VA
	E-mail:  psheldon@randolphcollege.edu
START Increasing Vocabulary   /  139
	Tabatha Dobson Scharlach, University of Central Florida
	E-mail:  tscharla@mail.ucf.edu
Technology to Facilitate Online Group Formation   /  145
	Lin Lin, University of North Texas, TX
	Brenda I. Lopez Ortiz, St. John’s University, NY 
	E-mail:  Lin.Lin@unt.edu
Student Trauma in the Classroom  /  153
	Mary E. Pritchard, Boise State University, ID
	Patt Elison-Bowers, Boise State University
	Bobbie Birdsall, Boise State University
	E-mail:  marypritchard@boisestate.edu
Building Effective Elementary School Web Sites  /  159
	Shayla Thompson, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, NC
	Adam Friedman, Wake Forest University, NC
	Richard Hartshorne, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, NC
	Bob Algozzine, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, NC
	E-mail:  rhartsho@uncc.edu
Self-Regulatory Instruments in Fieldwork Programs  /  165
	Max Kopelman, Touro College, NY
	Floyd Kessler, C. W.  Post College, NY
	Jonathan Ohayon, Touro College, NY 
	E-mail:  dwkd@aol.com
Grading Changes after a Writing Faculty Workshop  /  170
	Glenna M. Andrade, Roger Williams University, RI
	Judith Platania, Roger Williams University, RI
	E-mail:  gandrade@rwu.edu
Collaborating Across Disciplines and Countries  /  174
	Åsa Gardelli, University of Luleå, Luleå,  Sweden 
	Jillian Campana, Whistling Woods Film and Media Institute, Mumbai,  India
	E-mail:  Asa.Gardelli@ltu.se
The Pedagogue & the Manatee: Danger of Extinction   /  179
	Carol M. Shepherd, National University, CA
	Madelon Alpert, National University, CA
	Marilyn Koeller, National University, CA
	E-mail:  cshepher@nu.edu
Teaching Election Law to Promote Civic Engagement  /  184
	David Tushaus, Missouri Western State University
	E-mail:  tushaus@missouriwestern.edu
Telephone Writing: Exploring Poetry Across Levels  /  189
	Eileen Nagle, Westwood Regional Jr./Sr. High School, NJ
	Jessica Restaino, Montclair State University
	E-mail:  restainoj@mail.montclair.edu
Using Popular Film to Teach General Psychology   /  194
	Anthony M. Zoccolillo,  DeVry University, NJ
	E-mail:  azoccolillo@brookdalecc.edu
Supporting Faculty Technology Integration Skills  /  200
	Marwin Britto, Central Washington University, WA
	E-mail:  mbritto@bellsouth.net
Learning Centered University Wellness Program  /  206
	Alice R. Flores, California State University, Northridge, CA  
	Yolanda Reid Chassiakos, California State University, Northridge, CA  
	Terri Lisagor, California State University, Northridge, CA  
	Beth Phillips, California State University, Northridge, CA 
	Steven Loy, California State University, Northridge, CA
	E-mail:  aliflore@aol.com
Can Digital Stories Build Career Identity?  /  212
	Mahatapa Palit, BMCC/CUNY, New York
	E-mail:  mpalit@bmcc.cuny.edu
Math homework and achievement: teachers’ role  /  217
	Pedro Rosário, University of Minho, Portugal
	Rosa Mourão, University of Minho, Portugal
	Margarida Baldaque, University of Minho, Portugal
	José C. Núñez, University of Oviedo, Spain
	Julio González-Pienda, University of Oviedo, Spain
	Antonio Valle, University of A Coruña, Spain
	E-mail:  prosario@iep.uminho.pt
Learning-Styles-Based Differentiated Instruction  /  223
	Sharon R. Parris, Bermuda College, Paget, Bermuda
	Andrea Honigsfeld, Molloy College, NY
	E-mail:  ahonigsfeld@molloy.edu
Delay of Gratification and Parental Role  /  228
	Héfer Bembenutty,  Queens College of the City University of New York
	E-mail:  bembenuttyseys@yahoo.com
Group work in English composition teaching   /  237
	Deborah Adeninhun Adeyemi, University of Botswana
	E-mail:  adeyemid@mopipi.ub.bw

Keyword Subject Index  /   242-243
To view selected text, click on article's title.
To view selected abstract, click page number.
To view tables and charts, click word "table."   Request paper copy when link is disabled.


  • Delivery time:
          -- Priority mail by May 9th
          -- Media mail by May 29th
          -- International mail: Canada and Europe by May 29th
          -- All other international mail by June 29th
    If copy was not received by aforesaid dates request journal-proof-of-shipment from
    academicexchange2@yahoo.com
  • Usually, after receiving shipment tracking number,
    you can check yourself US Postal Service delivery information.
  • Copies are sent out in the following sequence: first, annual paid subscribers, by ZIP Code;
    then, individual copy orders, by date of order.
  • Often, after all orders are fulfilled, we have some extra copies.
    Remaining copies are available on a first-come-first-serve basis
    at back issue price, $62.00 or $46.50 (after 25% discount)
  • Thank you for choosing Academic Exchange Quarterly for you professional needs.
Academic Exchange Quarterly print edition
has readers in
50 U.S. states and 48 countries


AEQ print edition = wide global recognition
                                                                make it happen...
11 April 2009