44 articles, 89 authors, 264 pages
Fall 2008     ISSN 1096-1453     Volume 12, Issue 3

delivery time
Table of Contents
Editorial:
	Service-learning and its impacts  /  4
	Second language acquisition and pedagogy  /  5

Classroom Dialogue As Embrace  /  6
	Marion H. Larson, Bethel University, MN
	E-mail:  m-larson@bethel.edu
An Air Quality TPSL Module for General Chemistry   /  11
	Jack F. Eichler, Oxford College of Emory University
	E-mail:  jack.eichler@emory.edu
Refocusing second language education   /  16
	Jill Pellettieri, Santa Clara University, CA
	Lucia Varona, Santa Clara University, CA
        E-mail:  jpellettieri@scu.edu
Focused Monitoring in the Language Classroom  /  23
	Gregory Thompson, University of Central Florida
	Alan V. Brown, University of Kentucky
	E-mail:  glt@mail.ucf.edu
Outcome Assessment: The Internship Portfolio   /  28
	Jo Williams, University of Southern Maine
	Colleen Colles, Nichols College
	E-mail:  jwilliams@usm.maine.edu  
The Characteristics of State Assessment Results   /  34
	Christopher H. Tienken, Seton Hall University
	E-mail:  goteach1@hotmail.com  
Service Learning in Nutrition Education  /  40
	Alicia Sinclair, Queensborough Community College, NY
	Lana Zinger, Queensborough Community College, NY
	E-mail:  acs63me@yahoo.com
L2 Pedagogy and Globalization: A Historic Overview  /  45
	Janis Massa, Lehman College, New York
	E-mail:  janmas@msn.com 
The Efficacy of Group-Administered ORF Measures   /  51
	Tammy L. Stephens,  Texas Woman’s University
	Lloyd Kinnison,  Texas Woman’s University
	Dwane Allen,  Educational, Speech, and Psychological Services Inc.
	E-mail:  TStephens1@twu.edu 
Building Community through Service Learning  /  57
	Kim Buch, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
	E-mail:  kkbuch@uncc.edu
Perception of L2 Fluency in Study Abroad Context  /  62
	Riikka Ullakonoja, University of Jyväskylä, Finland 
	Hannele Dufva, University of Jyväskylä, Finland
	E-mail:  riikkau@campus.jyu.fi
Uncovering Attitudes Toward High Poverty Schools   /  67
	Alexa Darby, Elon University, NC
	Mary Knight-McKenna, Elon University, NC
	Maggie Spingler, Elon University, NC
	Chelsea Price, Elon University, NC
	E-mail:  adarby@elon.edu
School/University Connections in Teacher Research  /  72
	Connie DiLucchio, West Chester University of Pennsylvania
	Heather Leaman, West Chester University of Pennsylvania
	E-mail:  CDiLucchio@wcupa.edu
Validation Study of Technology Skills Survey  /  77
	Sandra M. Harris, Troy University Montgomery, AL
	Rebecca R. Jacobson, Troy University Montgomery, AL
	E-mail:  smharris@troy.edu
Student & Teacher Created Videos: Who Needs Pros?  /  83
	Barbara Jo White, Western Carolina University, NC 
	Danial L. Clapper, Western Carolina University, NC 
	Jo Ann E. Brown, Radford University, VA 
	E-mail:  whiteb@wcu.edu
Reflections on Public Health and Service-Learning  /  89
	B. Jamison, Loma Linda University
	D. Gaede, Loma Linda University
	R. Mataya, Loma Linda University
	J. Belliard, Loma Linda University
	E-mail:  bjamison@llu.edu
Examining Online Language Practice Communities   /  95  Abstract
	Joellen E. Coryell, The University of Texas at San Antonio
	M. Carolyn Clark, Texas A&M University
	E-mail:  joellen.coryell@utsa.edu
Impact of Service-Learning on Teachers’ Efficacy  /  102
	Larry P. Nelson, University of Texas at Arlington
	Kathleen Tice, University of Texas at Arlington
	Shirley Theriot, University of Texas at Arlington
	E-mail:   lnelson@uta.edu
The Impact of Collegial Support Upon Efficacy   /  108
	Janice M. Rey, Saint Joseph’s College of Maine
	Marilee H. Dunklee, Raymond School District, Maine 
	E-mail:  jrey@sjcme.edu
Assessment of Teaching Grants in Higher Education  /  113  Abstract
	Marilyn Lockhart, Montana State University
	E-mail:  lockhart@montana.edu
Learning Styles of Future Teachers and Engineers  /  119
	Linda T. Coats, Mississippi State University
	E-mail:  Ltc1@ra.msstate.edu
Measuring the phenomenology of service learning  /  126
	Eric Grossman, Emory & Henry College, VA
	Peter Redvers-Lee, Emory & Henry College, VA
	E-mail:  egrossman@ehc.edu
Formative Assessment: Sharing Success of Learning  /  132
	Mary A. Hansen, Robert Morris University, PA
	Anita Iaquinta, Trinity Lutheran College, WA
	E-mail:  hansen@rmu.edu
Successful Service-Learning Features: Case Study  /  138
	Elizabeth J. Aleman, Vanderbilt University
	Sharon L. Shields, Vanderbilt University
	Leigh Z. Gilchrist, Vanderbilt University
	E-mail:  Elizabeth.J.Aleman@Vanderbilt.Edu
Service Learning in Hybrid Online Courses  /  144
	Laura Grams, University of Nebraska Omaha, NE
	E-mail:  lgrams@mail.unomaha.edu
Personalizing Culture through Microethnography  /  149  Abstract
	Joye Smith, Lehman College, City University of New York
	E-mail:  joye.smith@lehman.cuny.edu
Using Bartleby to Teach Group Dynamics  /  155
	K. Denise Bane, Bloomfield College, NJ
	Rebecca L. Williams, Essex County College, NJ
	E-mail:  Denise_Bane@bloomfield.edu  
Shaping Service-Learning Evaluation   /  159
	Anne M. Hewitt, Seton Hall University
	E-mail:  hewittan@shu.edu
Nonnative teachers’ experience of microteaching   /  165
	Hoe Kyeung Kim, Cleveland State University.  
	E-mail:  h.k.kim64@csuohio.edu 
Assessing Interdisciplinary Learning Outcomes  /  171
	Allen F. Repko, University of Texas Arlington 
	E-mail:   repko@uta.edu  
Identifying the ZPD:  Finding the Learner’s Voice  /  179
	Lorrie Stoops Verplaetse, Southern Connecticut State University
	E-mail:  VerplaetseL1@SouthernCT.edu
Code-switching in EFL Settings: Use and Relevance  /  185
	Jaya S. Goswami, Texas A&M University-Kingsville, TX
	Hilda I. Garcia, Texas A&M University-Kingsville, TX
	E-mail:   kfjsg01@tamuk.edu
Cross-cultural intergenerational service learning   /  191  Abstract
	Judy Esposito, Elon University, NC
	Bud Warner, Elon University, NC
	E-mail:  jesposito@elon.edu
Readers Theater, Paraphrasing and Idiom Retention  /  196
	Su-Yueh Wu, National University of Tainan, Taiwan
	E-mail:  suyuehwu@mail.nutn.edu.tw
Beyond the Classroom:Diversity & Service Learning  /  202   Abstract
	Maria J. Lavooy, University of Central Florida, FL
	E-mail:   mlavooy@mail.ucf.edu
Respect in the Classroom: A Developmental Approach  /  207
	Shannon Audley-Piotrowski, University of Memphis, TN
	Yeh Hsueh, University of Memphis, TN
	Robert Cohen, University of Memphis, TN
	E-mail:  saudley@memphis.edu
Developing a Distance Learning and Online Strategy  /  212 Abstract
	Monica J. Parzinger, St. Mary’s University, TX
	Carol Luckhardt Redfield, St. Mary's University, TX
	Robert Boyd Skipper, St. Mary's University, TX
	Necia Wolff, St. Mary's University, TX
	E-mail:  mparzinger@stmarytx.edu
Legislated Wellness and Elementary Education  /  218
	Jenine De Marzo,  Adelphi University, NY
	Angela Beale,  Adelphi University, NY
	Shannon Whalen, Springfield College, MA
	Michael Ludwig,  Hofstra University, NY
	E-mail:  demarzo@adelphi.edu  
Learning the Changing Discourses of Democracy  /  225
	Jane Fife, Western Kentucky University, KY
	E-mail:  jane.fife@wku.edu
Literacy in the life of a ‘struggling reader’  /  230
	Cristina Aliagas, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain
	Daniel Cassany, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain
	Josep M. Castellà, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain
	E-mail:  cristina.aliagas@upf.edu
Snapshot of a School Portrait  /  236
	Cristy Kessler, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Hi
	Kahealani David, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Hi
	Heather Liu, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Hi
	Kenton Wong, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Hi
	Leilani Wong, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Hi
	E-mail:  ckessler@hawaii.edu
Preparing teachers for the 21st century using PBL  /  244
	Lindsay Brears, Massey University College of Education, New Zealand
	Bill MacIntyre, Massey University College of Education, New Zealand
	Madhumita Bhattacharya, Athabasca University, Canada 
	E-mail:  L.E.Brears@massey.ac.nz
Energizing Engagement through Service-Learning  /  249
	Carolyn Bartick Ericson, Christopher Newport University
	Karen A.Ford,  James Madison University
	E-mail:  carolyn.ericson@cnu.edu
Lessons from Indigenous Russian Education Policy  /  255
	Nora L. White,  Texas Woman’s University
	E-mail:  nwhite@twu.edu

Keyword Subject Index  /  262-263

To view tables and charts, click word "table."
When link is disabled, request a free paper copy.


  • Delivery time:
          -- Priority mail by November 13th
          -- Media mail by December 2nd
          -- International mail: Canada and Europe by December 2nd; other by December 23rd
    If copy was not received by aforesaid dates request journal-proof-of-shipment from
    academicexchange2@yahoo.com
  • Usually, after receiving shipment tracking number,
    you can check yourself US Postal Service delivery information.
  • Copies are sent out in the following sequence: first, annual paid subscribers, by ZIP Code;
    then, individual copy orders, by date of order.
  • Often, after all orders are fulfilled, we have some extra copies. Remaining copies
    are available on a
    first-come-first-serve basis at back issue price, $62.00 or $46.50 (after 25% discount)
    Priority will be given to libraries and new annual subscribers.
  • Thank you for choosing Academic Exchange Quarterly for you professional needs.

Copyright and Academic Exchange Quarterly (AEQ) Policy Statement
  • Copyright © 2008, author(s) and Academic Exchange Quarterly.
  • After ten years of publishing, AEQ enjoys exceptional popularity among teachers and educators - readers in 50 U.S. states and 68 countriess.
  • To prevent unauthorized sale and/or the production and distribution of pirated AEQ copies, starting with Spring 2008 issue, AEQ upholds and practices the following
    1. No permission is given to copy, distribute or reproduce any AEQ article in any format without prior explicit written permission from the article's author(s) who hold exclusive right to impose usage fee or royalties.
    2. No permission is given, implied or granted to copy, distribute or reproduce in any format an entire journal issue or complete journal volume.
    3. Any use of material from this journal that is determined to be “fair use” under U.S. law (Section 107 and Section 108 of the U.S. Copyright Law) does not require permission.
    4. AEQ strictly enforces copyright laws, and we pursue all copyright violations to the fullest extent of the law.
  • To prevent indirect copyright infringement, each subscriber to AEQ (including subscription agencies) must sign the following Terms of Sale.   By signature below, this is to affirm that I (we) understand, acknowledge, and agree that no part of AEQ, nor any issue in its entirety, may be sold or leased or given away to another publisher, database or content provider. _________________________________________________
5 November 2008